Southland School District

The Southland School District is located in southeastern Minnesota. It is approximately 200 square miles. It serves the Minnesota communities of Adams, Dexter, Elkton, Johnsburg, Rose Creek,Taopi and their surrounding rural areas. The District Office, Early Childhood Center, Middle and High Schools are located in Adams, Minnesota. The Elementary School is located in Rose Creek, Minnesota. 

The district was established in 1971 by the consolidation of three previously separate school districts in Adams, Elkton and Rose Creek. Each one of the original districts operated their own elementary and high schools until 1973, when responsibilities were divided to serve grades 1-6 in Rose Creek, grades 7 and 8 in Elkton and grades 9-12 in Adams. 

Board of Education

Chair – Michelle Nelsen - mnelsen@isd500.k12.mn.us
Vice Chair – Dave Kirtz - dkirtz@isd500.k12.mn.us
Treasurer – David Schmitz - dschmitz@isd500.k12.mn.us
Clerk – Patti Hamilton - phamilton@isd500.k12.mn.us
Director – Wayne Kiefer – wkiefer@isd500.k12.mn.us 
Director – Dana Sorenson – dsorenson@isd500.k12.mn.us

Board meetings are scheduled for the third Monday of each month, except for January and February. The board will set the dates for the January and February meetings.


Board Minutes - 2016-2017
January 11, 2016 |  January 21, 2016 | February 18, 2016 | March 21, 2016 | April 18, 2016 | May 25, 2016 | June 20, 2016 | July 18, 2016 | August 15, 2016
September 19, 2016 | October 17, 2016 November 21, 2016 | December 19, 2016 | January 9, 2017 | January 23, 2017 | February 23, 2017 | March 20, 2017
April 17, 2017 | May 15, 2017 June 13, 2017 | June 19, 2017 | July 17, 2017 | August 21, 2017 | September 18, 2017 | October 16, 2017